Happy Hallows! Season Begins December 1st. Order your tickets today! Link Text

Scores / Schedule

2015 Nll Media Person Of The Year: Steve Ewen

The National Lacrosse League has announced Steve Ewen from The Province as The Tom Borrelli Award winner, annually presented to the NLL Media Person of the Year, for the 2015 season.

Ewen was recognized by his peers for providing comprehensive coverage of not only the Vancouver Stealth, but also the entire rest of the league, teams and players, on a regular basis over the last 12 months across print, digital and social media.

“There are a lot of talented people in the media banging the drum for lacrosse,” Ewen said. “I’m elated to have my name connected to them through this award.”

Ewen joined The Province, the most-read daily newspaper in British Columbia, in 1994. He began covering the NLL in 2002 while his lacrosse reporting dates back to the start of his career in 1989.

The award is named in honor of the late Tom Borrelli, who covered the Buffalo Bandits for The Buffalo News from the team’s inception in 1992 until 2008. Borrelli passed away in November 2008 after an accident that took place while covering high school football in Buffalo. In 2007, he had become the first media member to be recognized by the NLL Hall of Fame for contributions to the game.

“Never met Tom Borrelli, but I’ve heard nothing but great things,” Ewen said. “Guys like Paul Tutka, Jake Elliott and Stephen Stamp, among others, are all fiercely passionate about the game and have the best interest of the sport at heart.”

The Tom Borrelli Award was determined by a vote of the league’s media members. First presented in 2005 to the league’s Writer of the Year, the award’s title was changed to Media Person of the Year in 2011 to allow for a wider range of eligible candidates.

NLL Media Person of the Year (The Tom Borrelli Award) winners

2005: Mike Koreen (Toronto Sun)
2006: Sal Maiorana (Rochester Democrat & Chronicle)
2007: Ty Pilson (Calgary Sun)
2008: Paul Tutka (NLLInsider.com)
2009: Paul Tutka (NLLInsider.com)
2010: Paul Tutka (NLLInsider.com)
2011: Budd Bailey (The Buffalo News)
2012: Jake Elliott (Minnesota Swarm)
2013: Stephen Stamp (ILIndoor.com)
2014: Bob Chavez (ILIndoor.com)
2015: Steve Ewen (The Province)