Happy Hallows! Season Begins December 1st. Order your tickets today! Link Text

Scores / Schedule

Terry Sanderson Wins Induction Into Nll Hall Of Fame

The National Lacrosse League has announced Terry Sanderson has been voted into the NLL Hall of Fame as the lone inductee of the Class of 2015. Sanderson, who passed away in 2014, will be inducted posthumously as the 24th member of the Hall of Fame on Tuesday, Sept. 29 in Toronto as just the fifth coach/general manager in history to receive the league’s highest honor.

Sanderson was as an NLL head coach for seven seasons with Albany from 2000-2001, Montreal in 2002, Ottawa in 2003 and Toronto Rock from 2004-2006, which included a Champion’s Cup win in 2005. He finished his head coaching career with a 51-49 record. Sanderson contributed as an assistant coach for Buffalo Bandits (2004), Philadelphia (2007) and won the Champion’s Cup in 2009 with the Calgary Roughnecks (2008-2009). Sanderson served as the Rock’s general manager for five seasons (2010-2014), an impressive tenure highlighted by a Champion’s Cup victory (2011), along with two East Division titles (2010 & 2015). The Orangeville, Ont. native played in the original NLL for Syracuse (1974) and Quebec (1975). Sanderson passed away suddenly this past November at the age of 62, leaving behind an iconic lacrosse legacy.

“We know how happy he would be about this, and we’re happy for him,” said 18-year NLL veteran Josh Sanderson about his father’s Hall of Fame selection. The Toronto Rock forward added that the selection “means a lot, and our entire family looks forward to the induction ceremony.”

The five finalists for the Class of 2015 were selected earlier this month by the league’s Hall of Fame Committee. The other four finalists included Kevin Finneran, Tracey Kelusky and Gavin Prout along with Jake Bergey, who automatically returned from last year’s ballot. Sanderson received votes on 80 percent of the overall ballots, followed by Kelusky (63%), Prout (60%), Finneran (37%) and Bergey (33%).

Hall of Fame ballots were cast by the teams, current members of the NLL Hall of Fame and the league’s senior media members. Voters were able to select up to three of the five nominees on the ballot. To win induction into the Hall of Fame, nominees must be selected on a minimum of 75 percent of the overall ballots cast or 75 percent of ballots cast by Hall of Fame members. Kevin Finneran, Tracey Kelusky and Gavin Prout will automatically return to the ballot next year.

The NLL Hall of Fame was established in 2006. The 23 current members are:

Class of 2006 (Founding Members)
Les Bartley
Russ Cline
Chris Fritz
Gary Gait
Paul Gait

Class of 2007
Mike French
Darris Kilgour
Tom Marechek

Class of 2008
Sal LoCascio
Johnny Mouradian
Tony Resch

Class of 2009
Dallas Eliuk
Jim Veltman

Class of 2010
Rich Kilgour
Dan Stroup
John Tucker

Class of 2011
Bob Watson

Class of 2012
Steve Dietrich

Class of 2013
Pat O’Toole

Class of 2014
Pat Coyle
Chris Hall

Members of Media Recognized by Hall of Fame
Tom Borrelli (2007)
Neil Stevens (2008)

More information on the NLL Hall of Fame Ceremony for the Class of 2015 will be announced in the near future.